Aaron Elkins biography

 

 

Aaron Elkins

(1935 - )

Aaron Elkins (born Brooklyn July 24, 1935) is an American mystery writer. He is best known for his series of novels featuring forensic anthropologist Gideon Oliver—the 'skeleton detective'. The fourth Oliver book, Old Bones, received the 1988 Edgar Award for Best Novel. As Oliver is a world-renowned authority, he travels around the world and each book is set in a different and often exotic locale. In another series, the protagonist is museum curator Chris Norgren, an expert in Northern Renaissance art. One of his stand-alone thrillers, Loot deals with art stolen by the Nazis and introduces protagonist Dr. Benjamin Revere. With his wife, Charlotte Elkins, he has also co-written a series of golf mysteries about LPGA member Lee Ofsted. They shared an Agatha Award for their short story "Nice Gorilla".

Information source: wikipedia

Mystery Books

  • The Murder Book (Alex Delaware, No. 16)

    L.A. psychologist-detective Alex Delaware has received a strange, anonymous package in the mail. Inside is an album filled with gr

  • The Good Guy

    A stunning new thriller in the vein of Velocity and The Husband from one of the world's bestselling authors. After a day's work he

  • The Shadow of Your Smile

    Queen of Suspense Mary Higgins Clark brings us another New York Times bestselling novel that she “prepares so carefully a

  • Dirty Blonde

    Cate Fante is strong and sexy and wears designer suits like overpriced armor. She's just become a judge but leads a dark double

  • Ghost Ship (Paula Wiseman Books)

    "I am so pleased to have written my first children's book and to have my dear friend Wendell Minor illustrate it. I thought it

  • The Unloved

    Lush, a deceptively tranquil, the secluded island  basks in splendid isolation off the South Carolina  coast--as does the Deve

  • Talking God

    Reunited by a grave robber and a corpse, Navajo Tribal Police Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn is trying to determine the identity of a

  • More...

Mystery Movies

  • 12 Monkeys (Special Edition)

    In this science fiction masterpiece, Cole (Bruce Willis) is sent back in time to save the human race from a deadly virus that has

  • Mulholland Dr.

    This sexy thriller has been acclaimed as one of the year's best films. Two beautiful women are caught up in a lethally twisted mys

  • Adaptation (Superbit Collection)

    Director Spike Jonze delivers a stunningly original comedy that seamlessly blends fictional characters and situations with the liv

  • The Next Three Days

    Life seems perfect for John Brennan until his wife, Lara, is arrested for a murder she says she didn’t commit. Three years into

  • Primal Fear

    Clever twists and a bona fide surprise ending make this an above-average courtroom thriller, tapping into the post-O.J. scrutiny o

  • More...

Mystery Authors