Book reviews - Others

Others


Author: James Herbert
0 (0 Votes)
Winner of an American Educational Studies Association Critics’ Choice Award and Choice Magazine’s Outstanding Academic book award, and voted one of Teacher Magazine’s “great books,” Other People’s Children has sold over 150,000 copies since its original hardcover publication. This anniversary paperback edition features a new introduction by Delpit as well as new framing essays by Herbert Kohl and Charles Payne.

In a radical analysis of contemporary classrooms, MacArthur Award–winning author Lisa Delpit develops ideas about ways teachers can be better “cultural transmitters” in the classroom, where prejudice, stereotypes, and cultural assumptions breed ineffective education. Delpit suggests that many academic problems attributed to children of color are actually the result of miscommunication, as primarily white teachers and “other people’s children” struggle with the imbalance of power and the dynamics plaguing our system.

A new classic among educators, Other People’s Children is a must-read for teachers, administrators, and parents striving to improve the quality of America’s education system.


Tags:
US publication:
1999
Detective:
n/a
Genre:
novels

Mystery Books

  • Kiss Me While I Sleep: A Novel

    If you sense someone’s watching you from afar, or if you feel a shadow other than your own at your back, I might as well pack

  • All Our Yesterdays

    They were the Sheridan men, ruled by passion, betrayed by love, heirs to a legacy of violence and forbidden desire.  Gus, Boston

  • Not Dead, Only Resting.

    Text for Author Bio: Simon Brett is a former radio and television comedy producer, who has been writing full-time for more than tw

  • Chosen Prey (Lucas Davenport, No 12)

    A New York Times bestseller! Lucas Davenport returns in the most harrowing and unexpected Prey novel yet—

  • Stormy Weather

    A hilarious new novel of greed and corruption from the bestselling author of "Strip Tease". The story focuses on southern Florida

  • The Good Guy

    A stunning new thriller in the vein of Velocity and The Husband from one of the world's bestselling authors. After a day's work he

  • A Grave Talent

    This gripping debut of the Kate Martinelli mystery series won the Edgar Award for Best First Mystery, generating wide critical acc

  • More...

Mystery Movies

  • Mystic River

    Three friends who grew up in working-class Boston drift apart after a terrible tragedy. Years later, brutal events reconnect them.

  • The Bone Collector

    He takes his victims' lives and leaves behind mysterious pieces of a bizarre puzzle. And the only person who may be able to make s

  • The Yellow Sea

    Desperate to pay off mounting debts, a young man living in China agrees to carry out an assassination in South Korea. But soon the

  • The Game

    There are no rules in "the game." And that will make life very difficult for Nicholas Van Orton, a successful businessman who is a

  • Oldboy

    Oh Dae-su is an ordinary Seoul businessman with a wife and little daughter who, after a drunken night on the town, is abducted and

  • More...

Mystery Authors